Post a reply

Snooker Table

Postby Gnomy

Hi Folks ,
I am quite new to snooker ,
I started playing the game 4-5 months ago and , it was love at first try (I've always wanted to play it though) .Ever since , I have been getting a high from the sport , be it videos on youtube or by playing it.
Okay , So here's my problem ,
For most of the year, except one month , I am stuck in my college( I am from India )
The thing is the table they have is a nightmare , the baize is the problem really , not many play the sport here , so is uncared for.
For example , the deepest screws I play on a proper table at a pace with which I can come off 2 cushions , barely manages to stun the ball , or just screws it a tee bit.
I am sure that , the table will continue to get worse over the years , and this concerns me .
Any thoughts on how I can still improve my game ?

Re: Snooker Table

Postby Roland

It's hard, it's partly the same over here because it's so hard to get on a decent table that plays well. The problem is the cost of reclothing and most clubs want to make the cloth last as long as possible i.e. 2-5 years and inevitably your game ends up being based on playing the table you practice on, and if the only table you have access to is very badly maintained with no nap and bad cushions then you're on a hiding to nothing. You need to hope there's a big event in India and Pankaj and Aditya do well and are on television so that your college recloth the table, but then you'll probably find it too hard to get a slot because everyone will want to play on it!