Post a reply

2016 Draw

Postby PoolBoy

It's a 16-man knock-out format, with 8 players automatically qualified.
(former World Champions or previous winners of this competition)

Mark Williams (title holder)
Nigel Bond
Ken Doherty
Joe Johnson
Peter Ebdon
Darren Morgan
John Parrott
Jimmy White

They'll be joined by 8 qualifiers - no Steve Davis this year! :shrug:
But, a remarkable number of tour players competing - I can only assume the £18k winners cheque is one they all reckon they could take-home, in the short (3 frame) format.
Obviously, it doesn't count towards their ranking money, but It's actually a good 'pay day' - the equivalent of a ranking semi-final or the UK Championship quarter-final.

Some of the former pros to enter:
Craig MacGillivray
Dessie Sheehan
Tony Chappel
Adrian Rosa
David McLellan
Paul McPhillips
Les Dodd
Gary Wilkinson
Ian Brumby
Dean Reynolds
Tony Knowles
Darryn Walker
Patsy Fagan

And current pros who've entered:
Tony Drago
Barry Pinches
Gerard Greene
Lee Walker
Jason Weston
Mark Davis
Mike Dunn
Anthony Hamilton
Mark King
Joe Swail
Peter Lines
Rory McLeod
Rod Lawler
Jamie Burnett
Robert Milkins
Fergal O'Brien
Dominic Dale