SpiderWebb wrote:Hi, thank you for your answer.
I agree that I am over-analyzing this, that is why I find no answers to this difficult question. Let me put this into a scenario:
The two players are left, with just the black and pink. Player A is snookered behind the black ball. Player B needs several (perhaps many) snookers. But player B is the world's greatest player at getting snookers, it's really his forte! Player A knows this, and realises that if he tries to hit the pink, and hits or misses it, then player A will get snookers, and may eventually win, no matter how far he is behind. Thus, it is in player A's interest, to make sure, that his shot must look very much as if he is trying to hit the pink, while at the same time, he tries to make sure, that when he misses, his cue ball ends up in a position from where it is the most difficult to get a snooker from. That must be player A's goal, and his only hope, is that the referee, will accept that he has made a reasonable attempt to hit the pink - and if the referee does, player A has a chance of winning against this fantastic snooker-getter.
This scenario only seems to exist, if only the pink and black are left, and snookers are required, that is why I'm raising it. I believe, that the rule should be, that when only the pink and black are left, the miss rule can apply when snookers are needed. This would solve this issue. I'd be interested to know what others think...
You are just running in circles here. To make it as simple as possible, Player A is snookered behind Black and so must contact Pink or his opponent may have a chance to win. If he could have a choice, would he rather: 1) hit the Pink thus giving away no penalty points maintaining the "snookers required" status, or 2) fail to hit Pink giving away six penalty points in the process, but he played in such a way that now he knows that Player B at least will not be able to lay ANOTHER snooker on him.
And that is it. The answer to that tells you whether that player was really trying his best to make contact with the Pink. If anyone can possibly think that 2) above is a valid answer, that person needs to re-assess his relationship with Snooker.