Emran_mak wrote:What is the panalty for giving snooker behind freeball chosen?
Depends on the value of the ball on...
In the case of reds, yellow, green and brown, penalty 4 points, blue is 5. With only pink and black left, you can snooker behind pink if there's a free ball.
Andre, your answer is true and accurate and I know that you understand the Rule exactly, but the problem I have found is that most players are not very well in tune with the way the Rules are written, terminology used, etc. So I would add to your answer a bit to be a little more clear for Emran...
The important thing to understand to interpret this rule correctly is the meaning of the term "ball on". A characteristic of Free Ball is that the Free Ball shall "acquire the value of the ball on" and this is important to understand clearly for Emran's question. Section 3., 10. (a) says the penalty for Emran's situation is a minimum of four points or the "value of the ball on". As you implied with your answer Andre, this means that if a player were to lay a snooker behind the nominated Free Ball, the penalty will nearly always be just four points, but very, very rarely it might be five points, and also of note, this can NEVER result in a six or seven point penalty, even when the nominated Free Ball is Pink or Black.
Easiest to explain this with an example....
Final Red is on table, the striker fouls by failure to contact and leaves the Red snookered, so a Free Ball situation. The incoming striker is not very knowledgeable of the Rules so he nominates Free Ball Black and just touches it rolling up behind it, effectively snookering behind the Free Ball. FOUL, the penalty is four points because that is the minimum penalty value and the Ball On at the foul stroke was Red and Black had acquired the value of Red. So this is NOT a seven point penalty. Similarly, if Black is nominated as Free Ball and the striker miscues and does not contact Black at all, again, Foul, four points away.
The only time this particular foul can result in a five point penalty would be when only Blue-Pink-Black remain. Say Blue is fouled and table position leaves Free Ball. Incoming striker nominates Pink and rolls up behind it leaving Blue snookered. Foul, FIVE points away because Blue was the Ball On and Pink had acquired a value of five for that particular stroke. This would obviously be a very rare circumstance indeed.
Following all of the logic, it is not possible for this "snookered behind the Free Ball" foul to result in six or seven points because, as Andre stated, if Pink and Black are the only balls on the table, then it is a fair stroke to snooker behind the Free Ball (which, logically, can only be the Black ball).
I think the examples make this easiest to understand. Sorry to be pedantic here but with the answer, "Depends on the value of the ball on...", then this may be misinterpreted by an otherwise intelligent player because the player may think, "He played at Pink as Free Ball and Pink has a value of six so he should be giving me six points for the penalty" and of course, that would be wrong.