Ok, so let's be totally clear about this important issue we are discussing, I'll answer it in parts from your previous post if you don't mind:
"But a cursory glance at the Section 2 definition of "Forced off table" and the Penalties section of Section 3 gives no indication that a ball forced off the table cannot be put back."
During a Foul and a Miss situation you described, the red forced off the table would always remain off the table in subsequent strokes and therefore 8 possible points would be removed as well, because as you said there would be no spot for the red to be replaced, and all the other colours would be put back in their original position if the non-offender so wished, and the ball on would remain a red unless that was the last red on the table, in which case like you said the yeallow would be the ball on, in ascending order according to their respective points.
But, like you well said, and this is something that has been long discussed before, there is a case when "It would seem odd if that that were the case, especially if it had been the last red....", well, if this happens, and the referee believes the striker would gain an obvious advantage by forcing the last red off the table (advantage being he would remove 8 possible points and therefore his opponent would need Snookers), as I said if the referee believes the striker forced the last red off the table on purpose then he has the discretion to replace the red in it's original position, and the referee would therefore warn the offender that if a further situation occured, he would award the frame to his opponent, as according to Section 4, topic 1, a(ii) and (iii), in which case, given this ungentlemanly conduct, the referee would warn the player, and a further instance would result in the frame being forfeited. This is the only instance when the referee has the right to replace a red which has been forced off the table when he considers the striker would gain an obvious advantage, especially if this was the last red. This obviously doesn't cover those instances when a red for some reason falls into the pocket when no stroke was being played, in this case the referee would simply put the ball back, whether it's red or not, as near to it's original spot that was close to the pocket as possible, although I only saw this happening once at the World Champs in a Murphy match, can't remember which opponent, but I remember he was about to play a shot and then suddently the red fell into the pocket, and the referee simply put the red back and Murphy then played the shot he wanted to play earlier.
But this to say that forced off the table situation, the red ball would only be replaced if the ref thought the striker would gain an obvious and unfair advantage by smashing the red and forcing it off the table.
"And there is also the issue of a player touching the balls when the referee is replacing them. That would imply that if a player simply bent down and picked up the ball from the floor to hand it to the referee (that is, presuming that the red would be replaced to the table), he would get a penalty which is obviously ridiculous as well."
You see this happening sometimes, when for instance the cue ball falls into the pocket, you often see a player just getting it out of the pocket and handing it to the referee, and no foul is incurred, the same would happen if the red was to be replaced according to the above situations I described. And also, according to Section 3, topic 14 (f) and (g), "When any ball is being replaced after a miss, both the offender and the next player will be consulted as to its position, after which the referee‟s decision shall be final. (g) During such consultation, if either player should touch any ball in play, he shall be penalised as if he were the striker, without affecting the order of play. The ball touched shall be replaced by the referee, to his satisfaction, even if it was picked up, Section 3. 10 (d) (iii)". This would mean that if any player was to touch a ball while the referee was replacing them, he would be penalised with a 7 point penalty, but obviosuly not if he just picked a ball from the floor as we sometimes see it happening and no penalty is awarded.
So this to say are the only instances when a red should be put back to it's original position if it was forced off the table, 1: ungentlemanly conduct, and 2:fell into a pocket when no stroke was being played.
Hopefully I was clear enough on this Forced off the Table issue, I know it can be quite complicated at times but it really isn't that hard to understand.