scMk wrote:The rule is pretty simple:
The player has to play towards the object ball with a speed that would have brought the cue ball to the object ball if there were no other balls covering the object ball. Then a miss would not be called.
If, however, in such situation you play the cue ball not towards the object ball, then it would be likely to get a miss ;)
That's not quite right. If the ball on is impossible to hit, then you can play at it either directly OR
indirectly, provided you play with sufficient strength to have hit it had the obstructing ball(s) not been there.14. Foul and a Miss
The striker shall, to the best of his ability, endeavour to hit the ball on. If the referee considers the Rule infringed, he shall call FOUL AND A MISS unless only the Black remains on the table, or a situation exists where it is impossible to hit the ball on. In the latter case it must be assumed the striker is attempting to hit the ball on provided that he plays, directly or indirectly, at the ball on with sufficient strength, in the referee’s opinion, to have reached the ball on but for the obstructing ball or balls.