The only rules I will play 8 ball pool to are as follows:
1) A ball must hit a rail after initial contact
2) A foul gives opponent ball in hand anywhere on table but only one turn
3) Open table after the break and open table until only one ball type has been potted by a player i.e. if he keeps potting one or more of each then it remains open table.
No nominations, no missed turns, no other rules apart from the obvious
I believe these are World Rules? It's a fantastic game. You can deliberately foul, it's not bad sportsmanship, it's tactics. Like if I have a ball over a pocket and my opponent has a ball blocking it which is also not pottable I will force the opponent to move that ball by helping him to pot his other balls if it needs to be done.
As stated before, I only play pool on US tables with spots (or solids) and stripes and I think the reds and yellows version with two turns after a foul is a massively inferior version.
I'm playing pool tonight with the above rules and I can't wait!
So in answer to the initial question would I deliberately foul? In the rules stated above of course I would because if you get it out of your head that it's bad sportsmanship then you see the beauty of employing such tactics.