Badsnookerplayer wrote:I had never seen this - quite funny.
I know they did not like each other and Cliff had laid Higgins out.
Wildey wrote:I Remember Watching that when it happened.
Thorburn obviously to you and Me said Green the Audience herd it i think though its a bit unfair to say Alex heard it and lied about it.
You can only hear what you hear not hear what everyone else wants you to hear.
Holden Chinaski wrote:Isn't the normal procedure that the ref answers the player? When the player says 'green ball', the ref confirms it and also says 'green ball'? The ref didn't say anything so Thorburn should have known he didn't hear him.
Badsnookerplayer wrote:Although you are both right that is the convention, I do not believe there is anything in the rules to that effect.
There is no need to declare in the same way there is no need to declare every time you take on a normal black or other ball.
If the ref is unsure, he should (I believe) ask the player to nominate.
The ref was incorrect at least by the current rules.
gallantrabbit wrote:I would normally back anyone against Higgins for this type of argument, but the funniest thing is when Thorburn bans Higgins from using his extension at the end
Reminded me of me and my brother...when we were 5 and 6...