Mark12481 wrote:What is the rules regarding snookers required let's say I'm down 26 wit25 on the table is it just a miss called or can it be put back .also if snookers are required am I right in saying neither player can put it back
Hi Mark. Properly, this query should be posted in the Rules and Referees section but I will answer here for simplicity. Many people have a difficult time remembering the exact way to rule Foul and a Miss near the end of a frame especially in the heat of battle. It seems rather complicated and I have needed to explain it to players in my club usually on more than one occasion per person. Even reading through the Rule myself, it took me quite a long time to get absolutely comfortable that I was getting it correct.
So to make it as understandable as possible, I came up with sort of a "method" for remembering....
I will ask you to burn into your brain two relatively simple and easy to understand phrases. The wording is critical; you have to get the words of these phrases EXACTLY correct, then you will never have trouble with this Rule again. So the phrases are:
1) BEFORE OR AFTER, and
2) SNOOKERS REQUIRED TO WIN
(but if you really have a good memory, it would be better to remember, "Snookers required to win WITH THE BALLS REMAINING ON THE TABLE).
Now to apply those phrases, BEFORE OR AFTER simply means the table situation whether it was immediately before OR immediately after the foul (and potential miss) stroke occurred. And SNOOKERS REQUIRED TO WIN means that one of the players is losing by enough points that it is impossible for him to win unless he picks up penalty points from his opponent. This would still be true even if he could draw the frame then win with a re-spotted Black. It does not matter in the least WHICH of the two players committed the foul, the losing or the winning player. Either player commits a foul, ruling is the same.
So to put it in the simplest complete sentence possible:
"If snookers are required by either player in order to win the frame with the balls remaining on the table either before or after a "miss" type Foul Stroke occurs, then "Foul and a Miss" WILL NOT BE CALLED (unless the Referee considers the "miss" to have been played intentionally)."
That sentence is WAY TOO LONG to remember clearly in its entirety so just break it down into the simple to remember phrases above and if those phrases are crystal clear in your mind, you will never be confused by this again.
So let's apply that knowledge to your situation....
One player 26 points down with 25 points (Green ball) remaining on the table. Say no more. Simply, BEFORE the stroke, one player required snookers in order to have a chance to win the frame with the balls remaining on the table. Who committed the foul is irrelevant, the penalty value of the foul is irrelevant....the points will be added of course, but Foul and a Miss will not be called (unless the Referee thinks that the Miss was done on purpose...the Referee ALWAYS has the power to do that but you almost never see it actually happen).
Let's take another example, nearly the same. One player 25 points down with 25 points remaining on the table. If the losing player could clear the table, 25 points, Green through Black, then he has NOT won. It is a draw, Black is brought back to table to determine the winner. Therefore, if either player had been playing at that initial Green ball and committed a "miss" type Foul stroke, then "Miss" would not be called (because BEFORE the foul stroke, one of the players was not able to WIN the frame with just the balls on the table. Same would be true if the difference in scores had been 21 points on Green, then the losing player commits a "miss" foul on Green, four away. Because then, AFTER the foul stroke, that losing player could not win with the balls remaining. He could only draw, therefore, no "Foul and a Miss".
I wrote a lot of words, a lot of sentences, a lot of paragraphs, but if you can just remember those two key phrases, it should all become clear. Good luck!