I was already motivated to win, but this only fired me up even more.
There were twists and turns right through the match but after going 1-0 and 2-1 down i fought back to go 3-2 up before going in 4-4 at the interval.
With nothing to seperate us so far, already we were certain it was destiny it would go the distance, however some assured long potting and positional play took me 5-4 up then 7-5 up, ONLY 3 frames from victory.
Frames were averaging half an hour and wed been in the club since 11am, not to mention the fact id had to drive 100 miles to Glasgow beforehand for the match, so i was starting to fatigue slightly, with my legs turning to jelly and it becoming harder to focus, despite the intensity of the match.
I sort of wrote off the 13the frame stupidly and put myself in the mindset, so long as i kept on winning 1 of the next 2 id prevail in the end.
However a black ball loss in frame 14 was a cruel blow, as it was now 7-7, and with momentum on his side, my mate eventually won his 4th frame on the bounce to go 9-7 up and seemingly on his way to a fine comeback and glory, not to mention the prize money.
Somehow with my back against the wall, i sparked into life and produced some fine pressure pots to close back to 9-8. My mate was becoming frustrated and annoyed that he couldnt close the match out and i was 24 up when he embarked on a fine colours clearance, i was resigned to my fate when he missed a 50/50 black for victory, and i managed to power in a long range attempt much to his annoyance.
By now the pendulum had swung again with me having won 2 frames in a row to make it 9-9 and force a decider.
However, my mate knuckled down and soon took a 20 odd point lead in the frame. Was my comeback in vain?
I eventually got in among the balls and racked up a few points and was then faced with a black requiring use of the long rest. I stroked it in, then with no option and with me about 10 points clear and with a foothold in the frame again, i played safe.
The controversy started now though, as my mate piped up and said "Wheres the black?" Turned out i had failed to re-spot it after id potted it, so he demanded the frame (and match) for my mistake but i laughed it off and said it didnt make any odds and id played a deft spot up the table off the red and the balls that moved were nowhere near the black spot anyway.
As a compromise i gave him 7 foul points for re-spotting the black but he wasnt happy. What is the actual ruling on this, does anyone know?
I was rattled too that id made a basic error like that, and id visions that id lose the frame by 6 points, so the crucial error would cost me the match.
Alas, it was not to be as i gound out a 20 point lead onto the colours and eventually nailed a fine cut on the blue to leave him requiring 2 snooker which he never got.
After NINE hours and 35 minutes play, this 10-9 epic was finally over and id exorcised the ghosts of my previous 2010 showings to date when id only managed 2nd and 3rd in our fortnightly 3 man tournaments, as well as suffering a cruel 7-6 defeat on the final black ball, so revenge was sweet.
Anyone know the rule on forgetting to re-spot a colour afte potting it then?
And how about yous, any of you play regularly? for money? what formats do you play? any controversial incidents etc?
- Posts: 15036
- Joined: 02 February 2010